Slabraton
(Planeteer)
09/18/18 08:16 PM
How do I choose the digital input for recording?

I am having a problem. Not with my VS 890 or my VSR-880.

No, I am having problems with the damned manuals! I can't understand Rolandese.

I am trying to figure out how to choose to record from the digital input on 1-6 on the VS 890 and how to choose the digital input on the VSR 880. I have looked at the appropriate pages, but it appears one would need four arms to follow the instructions.

Does anybody know how to choose the digital inputs on the VS 890 (1-6) and the VSR 880 )1-8) and prepared to explain it in English?


uptildawn
(Planeteer)
09/18/18 10:31 PM
Re: How do I choose the digital input for recording?

You connect your digital inputs to various track/channels in the same way that you connect any analog input to various track/channels.

Seems to me that I recall that inputs 7 and 8 are the left and right digital input assignments. You can route their inputs to any track/channel or channel pairs once you've established digital lock on the incoming source signal.

It may be that you can't pre-assign the digital inputs until digital lock has been established - I just don't remember anymore.

You do know how to establish digital lock between your digital source device and the VS recorder - correct?

If not, the manuals are quite specific about it.

1- connect the digital out of your source to the correct digital input and type of input on the VS - that should be obvious - coaxial is the rca jack style and optical is the toslink/adat jack type.

2- Make sure your sample rates are the same - the digital source has to match the sample rate chosen for the SONG/project.

3- Select the digital clock source - IN = internal clock, DIGI 1 (coaxial) or DIGI 2 (optical) are both external clock (the external device's clock as source).

4- Digital LOCK needs to be displayed, if the correct settings have been made. If not, then DIGITAL In Unlock is displayed and then reset to internal. In every case, be sure to turn the volume down on your VS so as to avoid hearing the loud digital pops that happen whenever a digital connection is being made and/or broken.

There's nothing more to say that I can recall.

Be sure you've connected to the digital coaxial/rca connector and not one of the rca analog jacks.
Be sure that your external device is actually outputting a digital signal and not analog through the jack you choose, too.


Slabraton
(Planeteer)
09/19/18 12:02 AM
Re: How do I choose the digital input for recording?

You don't understand my problem. I have no issues using the digital inputs; the problem is assigning them to the "analog" channels. On the VS890, that's the first six. On the rack mount VSR 880 it's all eight.

I want to record digitally on all channels of the VS-890 but I can't figure out the manual. As I posted, it seems to require four arms. Surely somebody here knows how to do this.


uptildawn
(Planeteer)
09/19/18 12:52 AM
Re: How do I choose the digital input for recording?

I don't know what requiring four arms means in this case - there aren't 'analog' and 'digital' channels. You assign the digital inputs - which are on channels 7 and 8 if memory serves - to whatever track channels you want to record to, just as you would the analog inputs. That doesn't work?? I must have forgotten how.

uptildawn
(Planeteer)
09/19/18 01:04 AM
Re: How do I choose the digital input for recording?

Well, I just checked on the 1680 to refresh my memory.
The screen is way different, of course, but the process must still be the same.

You go to the track channel(s) you want to record to - it helps to link a left and right pair - like 1/2, 3/4, etc. (pretty sure you can do that on your machines, right?). Then you assign the digital input to that track pair.

In the 1680, it's easier to see, because there's a sort of routing screen, where you connect lines from the track/channel mixer to the input of choice. channels 9/10 are just underneath the digital input button and maybe connected by default in a new SONG, but I don't remember for sure. At any rate, even if they are, I just disconnect the digital input from wherever it's connected and connect it to the track channel pair I want...... simple.

Is it not like that on your VS machines?


Slabraton
(Planeteer)
09/20/18 12:15 AM
Re: How do I choose the digital input for recording?

Thank you. NO, it's not.

Apparently I am having trouble communicating.

I am trying to choose the digital inputs on each channel and I don't know how to change from the analog inputs to the digital.

The VS-890 has eight inputs; six analog and two digital. 7-8 automatically record digitally but there is a way to assign the digital inputs to the first six. It's pretty much the same on the VSR-880.

There's got to be a simple way to do this and I'm sure many here know how. I simply can't make sense of the damned manual.

Thanks anyway.