Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#1496517 - 10/02/16 08:12 PM Editing recording not done to a click
Peter Lancaster Offline
Planeteer

Loc: Chichester, West Sussex, Unite...
Last week I recorded a punk band. The band played live in the studio without a click. They overdubbed a lead guitar part and the vocals. Today I spent some time with the singer editing the song. Although the song wasn't played to a click he insisted that we picked the best verse and chorus and looped them keeping the intro and outro. The guitar part needed multiple edits as the timing wasn't great. I also had to move a couple of kicks. I didn't find this a particularly easy set of edits to do. In 15 years as a recording engineer I have never had to edit a track like this that wasn't played to a click (I have recorded hundreds of bands). The end result (just drums, bass and guitar) is ok and I managed all the edits without resorting to any time stretching.

I am not looking forward to trying to fit the vocals to the edited song. I fear that I'll be moving every single word to get it in time. I should be able to resort to using flextime, but it doesn't always work properly on my system following an update to Logic a few months ago.

The downside was that it took two and a half hours to do the editing (I'm using Logic X) which the singer thought was excessive and he told me that he thought that I didn't know how to use my software properly because he's worked in studios for forty years and knows that what he wanted doing could be done in an hour by someone who knows what they are doing. He only offered to pay me for half of the editing time, although he has paid upfront for the next three hour session (at half price).