Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#1644844 - 02/19/20 03:14 PM Simple security tips
FatherApe Offline
Planeteer

Flatcat posted a thread raising a red flag about in-home audio devices like Alexa.

I worked as a programmer beginning in the early 80's, and I have learned just enough to be justifiably paranoid about technology. I'm sure others here have tips they'd like to share. Here are some of mine...

1. I taped a yellow sticky over the camera-eye on my laptop. Hackers, chat sites and nefarious neer-do-wells can't access my cam.

2. I keep my phone relatively clean of apps. Headlines regularly report how apps are collecting personal data. That Allstate good driver app is just crazy. As are the "Health" tracking apps.

3. I've turned off "Location" tracking on apps. I set mapping apps to only collect my location data when the app is in use. Of course, as noted elsewhere - how can we really be sure...

4. I run my browser in Incognito, or Private mode so it doesn't amass a historical log of everywhere I've been.

5. I regularly "Clear All" of my browser history. It's inconvenient if it takes away auto-login info, but better safe than sorry.

6. I use passwords (but don't change them as often as I should). There are password programs to manage them and they generate wild passwords you could never remember. I haven't checked to see if you can sync a phone app password generator with your PC, otherwise, you couldn't log in to sites from your phone.

7. I use duckduckgo.com - never google, for searches. It claims not to retain every search you've ever made.

8. I have several email accounts, some with fictitious names for junk mail. Foolishly, I use gmail for my personal business and utility accounts. Google is known to scan your gmail - grrr!