Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#1649075 - 03/20/20 07:57 PM Updated os and can not see cdrII
Raybo Offline
Planeteer

Loc: New York City
I'm stumped. I'm a composer with 20 years of hundreds of VS 880 backup CDs.

I just got a VS880 in great shape, like new. It's expanded and shows the os as 3.20A when it turns on. It has all the expanded functions — except it will not recognize the cdrII. When I turn on the 880, the cdrII makes a wooshing noise like it's available — but it won't recover or save to CD. The err message is "NO CDR DRIVE".

I tested the cdrII and connections with a second VS880 and it works fine — so the problem is in the new 880.

I'm not sure — but my only idea is to update the os again. I did it in the past using the batch 'standard midi files'. There are 16 for updating — 8 for 3.20A and 8 for 3.20B. If I remember correctly I updated 880s in the past by sending all 16.

But —— I have no simple sequencer to load and play these standard midi files. I've tried loading to Audacity and it doesn't seem to work. I import all 16 smf files — or just 1. The Audacity track looks the same with 16 or 1 — just one horizontal line and and it does not play. So I can't tell if the smf files are there — and you must hit a sequencer's play into the VS880 to update. Ableton Live is complicating my simple brain.

Also, I have an old Midisport to go from the computer to the 880 but it is not lighting up. I definitely used it in the past to update. I have a pretty new Focusrite Pro interface that has MIDI, I could try using that..

whew ——- any help out there….? much appreciated,

Raybo

My Website

My Music

#1649084 - 03/20/20 08:48 PM Re: Updated os and can not see cdrII [Re: Raybo]
uptildawn Offline
Planeteer

Loc: on land