Page 2 of 3 <123>
Topic Options
#1639790 - 01/02/20 03:39 PM Re: Crackling / popping sounds [Re: KVM]
eggwheat Offline
Planeteer

Loc: South Coast UK
Long time no post...I still have my 2480 and still use it as a demo machine..anyway after years it has developed the cracking problem. On mine it is digital crackling and popping on the outputs..if I leave it on for 10 minutes it goes away. I am an electronics engineer, and based on experience, my gut says this is a capacitor failing somewhere...and it seems to be an issue as these machines really age now, based on looking around and seeing quite a few others reporting similar issues. I've never worked on a VS2480 before...but I'm going to have a go at fixing it at some point and will report back....if anyone finds anything out before me, please report here! I think this is an issue that is going to affect many if not all VS's over time..so it needs proper diagnosis.

#1640071 - 01/06/20 09:00 AM Re: Crackling / popping sounds [Re: KVM]
KVM Offline
Space Cadet

Ok, I did some further tests on the VS2480. Mine is running OS version 2.504

I finally found out how to get to the test mode diagnostic screen (Press and hold Page + F1 buttons while powering up). I then ran the DSP Check and the results were not good. I got a code 111 on not just one, but ALL of them!!!! While I was at it, I also noticed the internal battery is NG (no good) and needs to be replaced. It is apparently a CR2032 battery and it is located just under one of the effects card slots on the main board. My fader #4 motor appears to be bad as well because it failed the fader test.