Topic Options
#507157 - 06/07/06 07:16 PM Mixdown Woes
Hook Administrator Offline
Planeteer/Admin Artist # 34
Planeteer

Loc: Mansfield, OH
Jamie wrote:

Hi Laura,

I have been recording for 5 years on a VS 1880. I have recorded, mixed down, and made CDs of several songs, and nearly everyone of them has the same problem: When I play them in context of other songs on my iPod, they're always much lower in volume than the other songs. Also, I have compared my stuff to other's here on VS Planet, and most everyone else's sounds louder than mine as well. Assuming we are all using VS machines, I must be doing something wrong.

Let me add a little detail here: When I mix them down, they all peak at or around 0 without going over. However, since I sometimes fall victim to "fader creep" (i.e., the tracks all creep up in volume the longer I mix something) the master level creeps up past 0dB. So when I mix down, even if the meters show peaks at 0, the fader itself is at -4 or so. I wonder if this is an issue. I read some literature saying how important it is for the master fader to be at 0 when mixing, so maybe this is the culprit.

Otherwise, is there some simple but highly important thing I'm forgetting to do that would solve this issue? I want to master my tracks as well, and while I'd like louder, strong tracks, I don't want to lose the entire dynamic range of the music either.

Thanks Laura!

#507158 - 07/01/06 10:42 AM Re: Mixdown Woes
Laura Tyson Offline
Planeteer

Loc: Germany
Here are my suggestions:
1) Keep your Master Fader at 0 dB! Use your individual Track Faders to make sure you're not overdriving the Master (Stereo) mix.
2) USE THE MASTERING TOOL KIT! Dial in your favorite MTK preset and INSERT it in the Mastering Room so your final stereo bounce has the MTK printed.