Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#1419946 - 09/24/15 10:40 AM midi backing (guide) track creation suggestions ?
reddog Offline
Planeteer

Loc: London, England
Hi all,

Sorry about the length of post!

I'm a guitarist, songwriter and long time VS2000CD user.

Normally I play guitar, sing into my VS20000CD, add extra vocals or guitar / bass / mandolin etc until it feels good.

But sometimes I write songs that need a "backing band" or just drums, so I sync up the VS2000 as the midi master clock and control my external 'song' sequencer eg my old Yamaha qy100 (small screen and tricky to edit) or Roland PMA (great sounds).

These are great for creating backing tracks as they both have a chord track that drives the other instruments eg bass, piano, drums - but they are a pain to program!

I've found "Chord Pulse" http://www.chordpulse.com, which is driven from a chord track and is really easy to use - but it only allows one 'style' per song and has no drum fills, intros etc. It also has no way to import midi styles etc. It can save the song as a midi file which can then be loaded into Sonar etc for final volume, pan and instrumentation adjustments.

I've looked at "band in the box" but its interface is so confusing and complex that I gave up on it!

So my question to those who sometimes use midi backing track software - what do you use ?

Must have chord track, styles (drum, bass, instrument vamps etc).
I don't want to program drums (I've tried and failed!).
I don't want a DAW (I want to use VS2000cd).

Thanks in advance,

woof.

#1420072 - 09/24/15 10:18 PM Re: midi backing (guide) track creation suggestions ? [Re: reddog]
Slabraton Offline
Planeteer

Loc: California
Chord Pulse is limited but I like the drum grooves. Alternative auto-accompaniment software are Harmony Assistant and One Man Band.

These days, I am creating MIDI maps of my songs instead of simply recording them. It's a challenge and tedious as hell, but what is done is done (RIP Yogi).